Christmas spirit

It’s hard to feel like Christmas these days.  I don’t feel like Christmas shopping,  wrapping presents,  lighting candles or drinking a Glühwein with my friends.  I went to my old school’s Christmas concert a week ago and it was beautiful,  but the moment I got back home my festive mood had already been pushed aside.  My brain was busy making to do lists and going over the next day’s schedule and solving unsolvable problems the way it usually does right before I fall asleep.  And the next day I forgot all about the Christmas spirit I had been in. 

When I was a child, my parents used to tell me that all the Christmas lights were there for me and that all the celebration that preceded Christmas was also a celebration that preceded my birthday.  When did that turn into just getting older and celebrating yet another Christmas? Why do we stop enjoying birthdays and only think about how much closer it brings us to 30, 40, 50?  When did Christmas become a  nightmare spend on the road traveling from one relative to another?

Comments are always appreciated...

